Water and Sewer Impact Fees by City (2026): What They Are and What Homes Pay

Last reviewed: By Utility Cost Guide editor

An impact fee is a one-time charge on new development that pays for the growth-related capacity the new building will use: water and sewer plants, roads, parks, schools. It is set by a city, county or utility, and it is paid by whoever is building, usually when the building permit is issued or the plat is recorded. For water plus sewer on a single-family home, the 44 cities in our 2026 table charge from $1,000 in Mobile, AL to $22,250 in Georgetown, TX, with a median of $5,702.50; 16 of the 44 come in under $5,000 and 7 are above $10,000.

This guide shows what water and sewer impact fees cost city by city, how the number is calculated (meter size, house size, fixture units), who pays and when, and what state law says. Click any amount in the table to open the official schedule it came from. For the difference between an impact fee, a tap fee and a connection fee, see tap fee vs. impact fee.

What is an impact fee?

A city cannot add a treatment plant or a trunk sewer line for every new house, so it builds capacity in advance and charges new development for its share.

The name varies. Water and sewer utilities call the same charge a system development charge (Charlotte, Seattle, Spring Hill), a capacity fee (Mobile, Tampa, Columbus), a plant investment fee (Boulder, Fort Collins), a capital facility fee (Raleigh, Durham) or a utility expansion charge (Albuquerque). The table leaves out tap fees, meter fees and deposits, which pay for the physical hookup and the account.

Water and sewer impact fees by city (2026)

Water plus sewer impact or capacity fees for one new single-family home, from official schedules in our database (fee category impact or capacity, status verified). We used the smallest standard residential meter (5/8″, 5/8″ x 3/4″ or 3/4″) or the schedule’s single-family default; where a city uses a different basis the city name says so (a 1-inch meter, a plat date, a house-size band). Totals are the sum of the two columns, with no rounding. Sorted low to high. Checked 2026-09-30.

City Utility Water impact Sewer impact Total Effective date
Mobile, AL MAWSS $280 $720 $1,000 1/1/2026
Nampa, ID Nampa Public Works $269 $1,815 $2,084 7/24/2024
Richmond, VA (5/8-inch) Richmond DPU $810 $1,560 $2,370 7/1/2026
Concord, NC (city fee only) Concord Water Resources $1,632 $1,159 $2,791 8/13/2026
Wichita, KS (1-inch tap) Wichita Water Utilities $1,520 $1,350 $2,870 water 7/1/2025; sewer 1/1/2025
Tampa, FL City of Tampa $1,713 $1,237 $2,950 water 3/1/2023; sewer not stated
Greensboro, NC Greensboro Water Resources $1,710 $1,455 $3,165 7/1/2026
Ocala, FL (1,500-2,499 sq ft home) Ocala Water Resources $695 $2,656 $3,351 10/1/2025
McKinney, TX (3/4-inch) McKinney Water $1,754 $1,643 $3,397 12/1/2020
Raleigh, NC Raleigh Water $1,447 $2,223 $3,670 7/1/2026
Cary, NC (home under 1,700 sq ft) Cary Utilities $1,670 $2,258 $3,928 7/1/2026
Horry County, SC Grand Strand Water & Sewer $1,225 $2,735 $3,960 not stated
Houston, TX Houston Public Works $2,553.11 $1,830.24 $4,383.35 7/1/2026
Frisco, TX (1-inch meter) Frisco Public Works $2,120 $2,344 $4,464 not stated
Tacoma, WA (5/8-inch) Tacoma Water / Environmental Services $1,204 $3,339 $4,543 water 2/1/2026; sewer 7/1/2026
Orlando, FL OUC (water) / City of Orlando (sewer) $2,325 $2,537.50 $4,862.50 water 1/1/2026; sewer not stated
Spring Hill, TN (5/8-inch) Spring Hill Water $2,230 $3,035 $5,265 7/1/2026
Columbus, OH (3/4-inch) Columbus DPU $1,406 $3,892 $5,298 water 4/1/2026; sewer not stated
Fort Mill, SC (3/4-inch) Fort Mill Utilities $2,420 $3,000 $5,420 10/1/2025
Las Cruces, NM Las Cruces Utilities $2,748 $2,726 $5,474 10/1/2024
Durham, NC Durham Water Management $2,591 $3,028 $5,619 7/1/2026
Fayetteville, AR Fayetteville Water & Sewer $2,672 $2,998 $5,670 7/1/2026
Wilmington, NC Cape Fear Public Utility Authority $2,270 $3,465 $5,735 7/1/2026
Fort Worth, TX (FY2027 rates) Fort Worth Water $2,990 $2,838 $5,828 10/1/2026
Cedar Park, TX Cedar Park Utilities $3,160 $3,170 $6,330 12/14/2023
Charlotte, NC Charlotte Water $1,453 $5,066 $6,519 7/1/2026
Fort Myers, FL Fort Myers Utilities $3,353.39 $3,514.01 $6,867.40 5/4/2026
Lakeland, FL (inside city) Lakeland Water Utilities $3,603 $3,672 $7,275 10/1/2025
Austin, TX (platted 10/1/2023 or later) Austin Water $4,800 $2,900 $7,700 not stated
Round Rock, TX Round Rock Utilities $4,912 $2,921 $7,833 1/1/2024
Spokane, WA (5/8-inch) Spokane Public Works $3,475 $4,887 $8,362 1/1/2026
Chandler, AZ Chandler Water $2,460 $5,989 $8,449 7/1/2024
Queen Creek, AZ (3/4-inch) Queen Creek Utilities $2,382 $6,144 $8,526 1/5/2026
Sarasota County, FL Sarasota County Utilities $4,250 $4,480 $8,730 8/25/2026
Albuquerque, NM (UEC only) ABCWUA $5,377 $3,569 $8,946 7/1/2026
Seattle, WA (3/4-inch) Seattle Public Utilities $6,900 $2,600 $9,500 1/1/2026
Mesa, AZ (3/4-inch) Mesa Water Resources $7,719 $1,809 $9,528 1/1/2026
Port St. Lucie, FL PSL Utility Systems (plant + line) $5,705 $5,222 $10,927 not stated
Leander, TX (platted after 8/17/2023) Leander Utilities $8,762 $2,301 $11,063 8/17/2023
Charleston, SC (3/4-inch) Charleston Water System $4,620 $6,670 $11,290 1/1/2026
Provo, UT (standard lot) Provo Water $7,622.10 $4,450.26 $12,072.36 water 7/1/2026; sewer 7/1/2022
Celina, TX (1-inch meter) Celina Utilities $6,815 $10,233 $17,048 8/12/2025
Kyle, TX (platted 8/27/2025 or later) Kyle Utilities $10,908 $8,762 $19,670 8/27/2025
Georgetown, TX (Phase 2 rates) Georgetown Utility Systems $12,000 $10,250 $22,250 8/31/2026

The median of the 44 totals is $5,702.50. Some rows need a caution before you compare them:

Cities missing from the table are not free of impact fees. We left out cities whose fees depend on the lot’s location, a formula or several options, so that every row is one unambiguous number. Browse them all on tap fees by city.

Impact fee vs. tap fee vs. connection fee

An impact fee buys capacity in the system. A tap fee pays for cutting into the main and running the service line, and a connection fee can be either one, depending on the utility. The two are usually charged together on a new house, and the impact fee is the larger one in most of our data. Fort Worth’s water impact fee, for example, is $2,990 for the smallest meter.

Utilities do not use these words consistently. Denver Water calls its capacity charge a tap fee, and Las Vegas calls its capacity charge a connection charge. The full glossary, with every local term sorted into physical charges and capacity charges, is in tap fee vs. impact fee. For the physical side, see water tap fees and sewer tap fees.

How impact fees are calculated

Almost every schedule turns a per-unit rate into your bill with one of four measures.

Meter size

Because a bigger meter can draw more water, most utilities scale the fee by meter size. The common ratio is 1.0 for a 5/8-inch meter, 1.5 for 3/4 inch and 2.5 for 1 inch. Fort Worth’s FY2027 water impact fee is $2,990 for a 5/8″ x 3/4″ meter, $4,485 for 3/4″ and $7,475 for 1″, and Austin counts a 5/8″ meter as one service unit, 3/4″ as 1.5 and 1″ as 2.5. Charlotte’s FY2027 sewer system development fee is $5,066 for a 5/8″ meter and $12,664 for a 1″ meter.

Equivalent residential units (ERU, LUE, SUE)

Instead of meter size, some utilities charge per unit of demand, where one unit is one typical house. Kyle’s schedule counts a 5/8″ x 3/4″ meter as 1 living unit equivalent (LUE) and a 3/4″ meter as 1.5. Cedar Park keeps a single-family home at a flat 1.0 LUE ($3,160 water and $3,170 wastewater), and Georgetown counts a home up to 1,200 square feet without automatic irrigation as 0.667 service unit equivalents.

House size

Some cities skip the meter and charge by floor area. Ocala sets its water and sewer impact fees by air-conditioned square footage, in four bands, at the FY2026 rates:

Air-conditioned area Water impact Sewer impact Total
Under 1,500 sq ft $556 $2,125 $2,681
1,500 to 2,499 sq ft $695 $2,656 $3,351
2,500 to 3,499 sq ft $926 $3,542 $4,468
3,500 sq ft and up $1,158 $4,427 $5,585

Cary, NC also bands by area under roof: a house under 1,700 square feet pays $1,670 water and $2,258 sewer, and the top band pays $3,928 and $5,225. Bend, OR uses six size tiers, from $2,698 water and $3,417 sewer to $14,438 and $7,120 for homes over 3,000 square feet.

Fixture units

A few sewer schedules count plumbing fixtures. Portland’s sanitary SDC is $623 per drainage fixture unit, and homes pay 60 percent of that rate. Birmingham‘s Jefferson County sewer impact fee is $401.17 per fixture unit, so a house with more bathrooms pays more.

Who pays impact fees and when

The applicant who pulls the permit owes the fee. A builder of a spec or tract home passes the fee into the sale price, so a buyer of a new house pays it at closing without seeing a line for it. If you build on your own lot, it comes out of your budget. See new construction utility costs for where each charge falls.

Timing

Credits

You may not owe the fee at all if the lot already had service. Bentonville gives a one-ERU credit on lots platted by January 22, 2026, which cancels its $7,867 wastewater development fee for one house. Lincoln credits the impact fee already paid when an owner upsizes a meter and charges only the $1,419 net increase. Boulder credits the old house at current fee rates when you replace it, and Lexington credits the earlier use against the sewer fee.

Deferrals and installments

Some utilities let you delay or spread the cost. Nampa defers its water and sewer hookup fees up to 180 days or until the certificate of occupancy, though impact fees stay due at permit. Fresno lets existing homes defer sewer and water connection charges for up to 15 years with interest. Albuquerque allows qualifying nonprofit community development projects to defer its Utility Expansion Charge until sale. Wichita allows hardship deferrals. These programs mostly target existing homes and hardship cases, not builders.

State rules for impact fees

Impact fee law is set by states, and it differs a lot. We checked the two statutes below against the official state sites on 2026-09-30. We left out other states whose statute sites we could not open.

Texas: Local Government Code Chapter 395

Chapter 395 is where Texas cities and utilities get the authority to charge impact fees. Under section 395.001 the fees can fund water supply, treatment and distribution, wastewater collection and treatment, storm water and roadway facilities. The statute’s definition of impact fee also covers “capital recovery fees” and “contributions in aid of construction”, and “any other fee that functions as described,” so a city that avoids the name can still fall under the chapter.

That is why Texas city pages sort fees by plat date. See Texas utility connection costs.

Florida: the Florida Impact Fee Act

Florida’s section 163.31801, Florida Statutes (the Florida Impact Fee Act) sets the rules for impact fees adopted by county or municipal ordinance or by a special district resolution. For fees adopted or increased after July 1, 2026, it requires a plan-based demonstrated-need study, separate accounting of the money, administrative charges limited to actual cost, and notice at least 90 days before a new or increased fee takes effect. Collection cannot be required earlier than issuance of the building permit. Increases are capped: up to 25 percent phases in over two equal annual increments, 25 to 50 percent over four, and no increase may exceed 50 percent or come more than once every four years, unless a new study shows extraordinary circumstances. Any land, money or construction a developer contributes must be credited dollar for dollar.

The catch for water and sewer: subsection (12) says the section “does not apply to water and sewer connection fees.” So the 90-day notice and the increase caps above do not govern a Florida utility’s water or sewer capacity charge. Those are set by the utility’s own ordinance or tariff, and a local government water or sewer utility must tell customers through the bill about the meeting at which it will consider a rate, charge or fee increase (section 180.136). Ask the utility how its fee was adopted.

Florida water and sewer impact fees

The seven Florida utilities in the main table, sorted by total:

City Utility Water impact Sewer impact Total Effective date
Tampa, FL City of Tampa $1,713 $1,237 $2,950 water 3/1/2023; sewer not stated
Ocala, FL (1,500-2,499 sq ft home) Ocala Water Resources $695 $2,656 $3,351 10/1/2025
Orlando, FL OUC (water) / City of Orlando (sewer) $2,325 $2,537.50 $4,862.50 water 1/1/2026; sewer not stated
Fort Myers, FL Fort Myers Utilities $3,353.39 $3,514.01 $6,867.40 5/4/2026
Lakeland, FL (inside city) Lakeland Water Utilities $3,603 $3,672 $7,275 10/1/2025
Sarasota County, FL Sarasota County Utilities $4,250 $4,480 $8,730 8/25/2026
Port St. Lucie, FL PSL Utility Systems (plant + line) $5,705 $5,222 $10,927 not stated

Several other Florida utilities have more than one possible answer, so they are not ranked above:

For more, see Florida utility connection costs, and the city pages for Tampa, Orlando and Ocala.

What is an impact fee?

An impact fee is a one-time charge on new development that pays for the growth-related capacity the development uses, such as water and sewer plants, roads, parks and schools. It is charged to the builder or owner at plat, permit or connection, not on a monthly bill.

How much are water and sewer impact fees for a new house?

In our 2026 table of 44 cities, water plus sewer impact fees for a single-family home run from $1,000 in Mobile, AL to $22,250 in Georgetown, TX. The median is $5,702.50.

Who pays the impact fee, the builder or the buyer?

The applicant who pulls the permit owes it, which is the builder or the owner. A builder selling a new house normally includes the fee in the price, so the buyer pays it indirectly.

When is an impact fee due?

It depends on the city. Chandler, Cedar Park and Nampa collect at the building permit, Ocala at the certificate of occupancy, and Texas cities assess at plat and collect at permit under Local Government Code section 395.016. A permit or plat date can also lock an older, lower rate.

Is an impact fee the same as a tap fee?

No. A tap fee pays for cutting into the main and running the service line. An impact fee pays for your share of plants, tanks and trunk mains. Most new houses pay both. See tap fee vs. impact fee for how each utility names them.

What are impact fees in Florida?

Florida counties, cities and special districts charge impact fees under the Florida Impact Fee Act (section 163.31801, Florida Statutes), which requires 90 days’ notice for new or increased fees adopted after July 1, 2026 and caps increases. Subsection (12) says the section does not apply to water and sewer connection fees, so water and sewer capacity charges follow each utility’s own rules.

Can I avoid or reduce an impact fee?

Sometimes. Credits apply when a lot already had service: Bentonville’s one-ERU credit cancels its wastewater fee for one house on a lot platted by January 22, 2026, and Boulder credits an old house you replace. Pulling the permit before a scheduled increase can also lock the lower rate in some cities.

Can I finance or defer an impact fee?

Only in some places. Fresno lets existing homes defer connection charges for up to 15 years with interest, and Nampa defers hookup fees (not impact fees) for up to 180 days.

Sources